Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Olympic Spirit

I haven't written in this blog in about 9 months. I could have had a baby in that amount of time. I did not, however, I did pass my second year and sailed on into the third here at UBC. 2009-2010. The year the olympics come to the city. I would be lying if I said that I chose UBC originally because of its academic values, blah blah blah. No. I first applied to UBC because I wanted to go to the olympics and knew there was no way I would ever be an elite athlete. Especially since dodgeball and frisbee are not olympic sports there was little hope for me.

I decided to resurrect my blog because I have the privilege of living in Vancouver BC while the world visits for two weeks. In short, I finally have something to talk about worth reading. I went downtown yesterday to pick up my tickets while there were still manageable lines for the box office. It's very strange because I don't even recognize parts of the city, all of the sudden there's white tents. Everywhere. And pretty much none of it was finished yet so hopefully they keep on working at that. I'm planning on making the most of this experience but not making such a big deal about it that I'm disappointed. Compared to most I've spent little on tickets. I plan on watching it on screens downtown, provided I can get there. The motto is: no regrets. Because as I learned yesterday, I am no VIP and half the things I wish I could get into, I can't.

I am planning on being downtown for the gold medal hockey game and watching it with all the Canadians. Since its men's hockey I'll be pulling for Canada. Best case scenario: gold medal win, party in the streets of Vancouver. Other best case scenario: loss and a riot in the streets of Vancouver. Either way, it'll be an experience. So whether I'm dancing around with strangers or throwing a trash can through a window I'll be living the dream.

To be honest I'm a little nervous because I tend to not do well when I'm surrounded by people. It exhausts me and as much as it pains me to say this I might take a four day break to go back to Tacoma. I miss my family more than most people know and if downtown is so crazy I might as well go home and watch it on TV. I always said I wouldn't leave while the olympics were here, but I mapped it out on my calender and this crap takes FOREVER to complete. There's three weekends in there. It is a behemoth that swallows Febraury whole and craps it out March 1st. As exciting as it all is, getting to go home and see my mom and dad is a little more exciting, especially in that mid week lull of the last week where only Saudi Oil Billionaires can afford tickets to anything. It's also the women's gold medal game that thursday and I have this feeling in my heart and soul that the USA could win it. In which case, me and my american flag might not want to be here. On the other hand, the USA losses to Canada. In which case me and my american flag might not want to be here and endure the taunting.

I'm sure I could justify a Tacoma trip. Mostly I'm just talking to myself right now so most of the convincing is aimed right back at myself. I could use the rest, after this two and a half week explosion of world unity through sport, I start class at 9 the following monday. That is just not fair UBC.

No comments:

Post a Comment