I can and can't believe that it's been a week since I've blogged. This week has been insane. Two USA hockey games and a Barenaked Ladies headlining medal ceremony. But now all that is over and I have no more event tickets. It flew by so fast and it makes me sad to think it's all over.
The hockey games were fantastic, definitely the high of the whole week. I took pictures and hopefully I can get them up soon once I find my camera cable. The downtown area has been great too, just filled with people everywhere. Especially Granville and Robson which are all pedestrian areas. There's people with flags cheering and hooping and hollering everywhere. It really is the coolest thing I've ever experienced.
I went to the Sochi World Russia House. It's science world but taken over by a whole Russian contingent promoting the 2o14 winter olympics in Sochi. That kind of made me sad because after this week I want to olympics to be here FOREVER. I want them all the time because they're so festive and fun. However, also expensive. It's now my goal in life to be a serious hockey fan because thats been the high of my week. The problem is there's no way in hell I can afford Canucks tickets. At the game yesterday I sat by some diehard Wisconsin hockey fans and it made me miss high school because they had so much school spirit that UBC just lacks, but Curtis did have. They kind of made me want to be more into hockey. Also, after this week I insanely miss America so much because I forgot how awesome we are and what winners we are. Seriously, USA owns the podium here. I saw Seth Wescott awarded his snowboard cross gold LIVE at BC place. Watching them raise the flag and play the anthem was pretty emotional. I like Canada sure enough but in those little moments at these games, I finally feel home here. I feel homesick for America often and especially in the run up to these games when Canadians have finally figured out national pride. It makes me feel like an other, because even though I've been up here for years, it's not my country. This is just a little rant though.
As fun as it is to support the USA it was a little awkward last night in the bar of the pizza place I went to with my friend. We searched the city for a place we could get beer, pizza, and watch TV. So basically we went to Granville. We watched the men's figure skating and realized the whole place was owned and filled with Russians wearing Russian team jackets. Needless to say they were very upset when Pleshenko's result came in and he took silver. I had my Team USA shirt on (still on a high from the hockey game USA 6-0 Finland) so when we took figure skating gold over Russia I finished my beer, zipped up my jacket over the shirt and left. I was severly outnumbered. It's been fun to see people show their colors though. Me, I'm a USA fan first and a supporter of Canada as well. But I've been in the Swiss House and the Russia house. I've also walked by Czech supporters, Finns, Swedes, everybody! It's cool.
I wish it was like this always.
No comments:
Post a Comment