Vancouver seemed quiet this morning. When I got off the bus I was immediately enveloped in sound and sight and a vibe that only exists on Imagine Day. First years awkwardly following a leader holding a sign, people yelling in megaphones, tents, companies, and music everywhere. Now that I'm in my fourth year the first day of school isn't as overwhelming as it used to be. I was I could say that my memories of Imagine Day are bright and vivid, but really they're very vague and muddled. What I do remember about my first day? I remember it being overwhelming. I remember thinking that I would NEVER be able to get everything out of UBC. There was so much there. So many clubs, so many buildings, so many classes, so many people. Each year it felt less and less like that. Like maybe I made wrong choices. I got involved with UCM really early, in my third week in fact. I gave 4 years of university to that club. At the beginning of every year I would think "maybe I should try something new?" Or in the case of my major and my career paths. At the start of every year I would think "maybe I should get involved with this thing or that to network? Maybe I should go global? Maybe Co-op?" This morning I went to an info session for history majors (I went for free pizza) and I realized that lots of the opportunities were tailored to third years. I am past that. What my goal is now is to study hard for 8 more months and then I will graduate.
Yes, I will graduate in May 2011. Provided I don't mess it up.
No comments:
Post a Comment